Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

Click below to read the winners of the QES Excellent English Prize over the last few years

Winner 2015

Winner 2014

Winner 2013 

Winner 2012

(the 16th year)

Winner 2011 
(the 15th year)

Winner 2010 
(the 14th year)

Winner 2009 
(the 13th year)



The Queen's English Society Prize for Excellent English

This prize is awarded by the Queen’s English Society (QES) for excellent and inspiring English prose. The aims are to encourage the production of excellent English; to publicise its existence; to honour Arthur and Marjorie Goodchild for their generous benefaction to the Society, and to provide good examples through reprinting some of the best entries in our journal, Quest, if the authors and publishers give permission.

All entries must be of prose, fiction or non-fiction, published in a specified year, with a named author or authors, and must be sent in by members of the QES. The writers need not be British or members of the Society, and may be professional writers or amateurs. Any long works, such as books, must be represented by a short extract only. The seventeenth Goodchild Prize for Excellent English covered material published in 2013. All entries were read by each of the three judges, who are members of the QES and experienced writers with diverse backgrounds and tastes in writing.